• ORAU awards 36 research grants for 2019-2020 academic year to junior faculty at its member universities

    • Share:
    June 07, 2019

    OAK RIDGE, Tenn. — ORAU has awarded competitive research grants totaling $180,000 to 36 junior faculty from its member institutions. The annual grants are made through the company’s Ralph E. Powe Junior Faculty Enhancement Awards program that provides funds to enrich the research and professional growth of young faculty.
    The recipients, each of whom is in the first two years of a tenure track position, will receive $5,000 in seed money for the 2019-2020 academic year to enhance their research during the early stages of their careers. Each recipient’s institution matches the ORAU award with an additional $5,000, making the total prize worth $10,000 for each winner. Winners may use the grants to purchase equipment, continue research or travel to professional meetings and conferences.
    Since the program’s inception, ORAU has awarded 734 grants totaling more than $3.4 million. Including the matching funds from member institutions, ORAU has facilitated grants worth more than $6.9 million.
    “The Powe Awards program benefits our member universities and is always extremely popular, because it provides an opportunity for young faculty members to further their research careers and helps them identify potential funding avenues,” said Arlene Garrison, ORAU Vice President, University Partnerships Office. “ORAU is proud to recognize the research and professional growth of these emerging leaders as they support the future of science and technology.
    The awards recognize faculty members for their work in any of five science and technology disciplines: engineering or applied science; life sciences; mathematics and computer science; physical sciences; and policy, management or education.
    The awards, now in their 29th year, are named for Ralph E. Powe, who served as the ORAU councilor from Mississippi State University for 16 years. Powe participated in numerous committees and special projects during his tenure and was elected chair of ORAU’s Council of Sponsoring Institutions. He died in 1996.
    Recipients of the Ralph E. Powe Junior Faculty Enhancement Awards for the 2019-2020
    academic year are listed below:
    2019-2020 Ralph E. Powe Junior Faculty
    Enhancement Award Winners
    Award Recipient
    Member Institution
    Mridul Aanjaneya Rutgers University
    Fadi Abdeljawad Clemson University
    Irfan Ahmed Virginia Commonwealth University
    Mustafa Aksoy University at Albany
    Netz Arroyo Johns Hopkins University
    Rana Ashkar Virginia Tech
    Adam Aurisano University of Cincinnati
    Leilani Battle University of Maryland
    April Becker University of North Texas
    Muyinatu Bell Johns Hopkins University
    Suzanne Birner Berea College
    Jennifer Bridwell-Rabb University of Michigan
    Shiwang Cheng Michigan State University
    Xiangyang Dong Missouri University of Science and Technology
    Erica Edwards Wayne State University
    Tanvir Faisal University of Louisiana at Lafayette
    Yunlong Feng University at Albany
    Xiaodan Gu University of Southern Mississippi
    Yujie Hu University of South Florida
    Jyoti Katoch Carnegie Mellon University
    Yong Lin Kong University of Utah
    Joel Lewis George Washington University
    Chengyu Li Villanova University
    Fangqiong Ling Washington University in St. Louis
    James McKone University of Pittsburgh
    Jaewon Oh Appalachian State University
    Ashley Pagnotta College of Charleston
    Mikail Rubinov Vanderbilt University
    Brett Savoie Purdue University
    Stanley Snelson Florida Institute of Technology
    Thomas Theis North Carolina State University
    Tuo Wang Louisiana State University
    Shuo Wang West Virginia University
    Tiffany  Weinkopff University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
    Ruijie Zeng Utah State University
    Hanyu Zhu Rice University
    For more information on fellowships, awards and grants offered by ORAU, visit https://www.orau.org/university-partnerships/members-only/default.aspx
    ORAU provides innovative scientific and technical solutions to advance national priorities in science, education, security and health. Through specialized teams of experts, unique laboratory capabilities and access to a consortium of more than 120 major Ph.D.-granting institutions, ORAU works with federal, state, local and commercial customers to advance national priorities and serve the public interest. A 501(c)(3) nonprofit corporation and federal contractor, ORAU manages the Oak Ridge Institute for Science and Education for the U.S. Department of Energy. Learn more about ORAU at www.orau.org.
    Like us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/OakRidgeAssociatedUniversities
    Follow us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/orau
    Follow us on LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/company/orau
    Follow us on Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/orautogether/?hl=en
    Amy Schwinge
    (865) 576-3146