1400 Oak Ridge Turnpike
Oak Ridge, Tennessee 37830
(865) 483-1321
Contact Us

John McKittrick Receives Chamber’s Eugene L. Joyce Lifetime Achievement Award


The Oak Ridge Chamber of Commerce presented John McKittrick with the Eugene L. Joyce Lifetime Achievement Award at its annual Program of Work Kickoff breakfast on Tuesday, January 26. McKittrick is President and CEO of ORNL Federal Credit Union and was accompanied at the event by several family members and employees.

McKittrick has served as a Professor of Economics at Austin Peay State University in the 60's and 70's before going to work for the Commerce Union Bank in Clarksville, the Fort Campbell Federal Credit Union and the Cumberland Financial Group in Clarksville. In July of 1989, McKittrick and his family moved to Oak Ridge where he assumed the position of Operations Manager at ORNL Federal Credit Union. In 1994, he became the President and CEO of the Credit Union. McKittrick also serves as a member of the Board of Governors of the CU Community, LLC.

McKittrick's volunteer spirit has been exemplified in his service as a member of the Board of Directors of the: Oak Ridge Chamber of Commerce (Chair in 2004); American Heart Association; East Tennessee Economic Council; New Century Alliance; Economic Development Council; Anderson County Development Corporation; Oak Ridge Industrial Development Board; Roane State Community College Foundation Board; and UT Chancellors Associates.

The Eugene L. Joyce Lifetime Achievement Award is given to a nominee who has truly distinguished himself/herself and embodies the essential values of volunteerism, community service and dedication to the economic vitality of our community. It is the Oak Ridge Chamber of Commerce's preeminent award given to honor the memory of the late Eugene L. Joyce.

According to Stacy Myers, of Advanced Management, Inc., who presented the award, "The criteria associated with this award speaks of the importance of personal values. It mentions the values of integrity, compassion, loyalty, diligence, and a dedication to family, friends, and community. I don't know of a more true professional, committed volunteer, and a man of outstanding values, than my close personal friend, John McKittrick."

Previous winners of the award are Tom Hill, Wanda Craven, Gene Caldwell, George Mathews and Howard Baker, Jr.

The Oak Ridge Chamber of Commerce is a Four-Star Accredited Chamber of Commerce.

Back to News Listing